Ashol Pan, the 13-Year-Old Eagle Hunter

So, what was the most impressive thing you had accomplished by the time you were 13?

Had you managed to train a golden eagle to hunt for you as you ride horseback across the rugged Mongolian wilderness? If so, you might be Ashol Pan, a 13-year-old Kazakh girl who lives in western Mongolia and is the daughter of an experienced eagle hunter. But it turns out that Ashol knows her way around the art of eagle hunting as well–an art that is generally only practiced by males and is traditionally passed down from father to son.

You can read the article about her here, and I’ll give you a little sneak peak of the amazing photos you’ll see there:

This girl may be my new hero

This girl may be my new hero

I don’t know where I’ll be living in Mongolia, but if I’m assigned to the Bayan-Ölgii Province in the far west of the country where most of the Kazakh minority (who practice eagle hunting) live, you can bet I will try my hardest to go meet this girl! I’ll probably be able to find her kicking butt at the annual Golden Eagle Festival!

One thought on “Ashol Pan, the 13-Year-Old Eagle Hunter

  1. Gawd, even the girls there are huge! Thirteen years old? She would totally kick my ass. In, like, three seconds. And I’d probably like it.

Leave a Reply

