First Weekend Hike (Because What Else Are You Gonna Do in a Town Literally Surrounded by Mountains?)

On our first Saturday in Uliastai, two of my sitemates and I went hiking up one of the hills behind Shin Khurul, the neighborhood that one of my sitemates lives in that’s about a 40-minute walk from the center of the city.

At least it's a nice, scenic walk

At least it’s a nice, scenic walk

After fueling up on PB&J sandwiches (peanut butter is only available in UB or care packages sent from back home, but luckily we had stocked up before heading out to Zavkhan), we decided on a hill. It was already almost noon so we knew we didn’t have time to tackle one of the actual mountains, so we settled on this hill:

IMG_1429

Ok, you look taller and rockier up close...

Ok, you look taller and rockier up close…

Our “hike” ended up being more rock-climbing in some areas:

IMG_1443

And maybe I’m just out of shape, but it was exhausting! I think I’ll blame it on the thin air from the elevation though. Uliastai’s elevation is 5,751 ft (1,753 m), but obviously we were higher up on the hill. And I’m from Atlanta, where the elevation ranges from 738 – 1,050 ft (225 – 320 m), and I had spent the previous two years in New Orleans, which is below sea level in some areas, so I’m gonna make that my excuse.

Finally we approached the top of the hill:

You can tell it's the top because you can see the blue hadags on the owoo shrine

You can tell it’s the top because you can see the blue hadag on the owoo shrine

We stopped to rest and eat a bit before taking a bunch of photos.

IMG_1483

IMG_1473

Then we headed back down the other, less rocky side of the hill.

It was a lot of fun and I have a feeling I’ll be doing plenty of hiking during my 2 years here!

2 thoughts on “First Weekend Hike (Because What Else Are You Gonna Do in a Town Literally Surrounded by Mountains?)

  1. Pingback: Weekend Hike with My Coworkers (and Escalation of My Illness) | Min in Mongolia

  2. Pingback: About Zavkhan and Uliastai | Min in Mongolia

Leave a Reply

