Hair-Cutting, Hiking, and Halloween

A few weeks ago I got to go to my second Mongolian hair-cutting ceremony. Now, I already talked a little about hair-cutting ceremonies in my post about the first one I went to over the summer, but I didn’t get any pictures at that ceremony, so I made sure to take plenty of photos at this more recent one.

During the hair-cutting

During the hair-cutting

During the hair-cutting

During the hair-cutting

This ceremony was for the son of a Mongolian woman who is good friends with all the PCVs in Zavkhan and speaks amazing English.

Getting the rest of his hair shaved off

Getting the rest of his hair shaved off

The finished product

The finished product

 

I’ve also gone on two more hikes since my last post (gotta get as many in as possible before winter starts!). The first was with a few other PCVs and a few Mongolian friends.

IMG_1943

Panorama

IMG_1946

IMG_2004

On our way back we found a bunch of baby yaks, so of course I had to pet one

On our way back we found a bunch of baby yaks, so of course I had to pet one

We also passed by a small temple

We also passed by a small temple

 

The second hike was with two other PCVs and a large group of students from the Adult Beginner’s English Class we recently started up.

IMG_2183

 

We even had a random dog from town follow us for the entire 5-hour hike

We even had a random dog from town follow us for the entire 5-hour hike

IMG_2158

And because none of us knew where we were going, we ended up choosing a route down the mountain that quickly became more rock-climbing than hiking

And because none of us knew where we were going, we ended up choosing a route down the mountain that quickly became more rock-climbing than hiking

Let's just say it was too steep for the dog to even climb down, so we may have had to carry her part of the way

Let’s just say it was too steep for the dog to even climb down, so we may have had to carry her part of the way

And I only fell once! And luckily I managed to break my fall with my arm instead of my head!

Pictured: NOT the easiest way to get down a mountain

Pictured: NOT the easiest way to get down a mountain

 

Finally, each of the schools in town had a Halloween party organized by their respective PCVs. Since I don’t work at a school, I stopped by the party at the school closest to my home to get in on the Halloween spirit.

Complete with a mummy-wrapping race...

Complete with a mummy-wrapping race…

...zombie limbo...

…zombie limbo…

...and bobbing for apples.

…and bobbing for apples.

 

We also had a Halloween-themed lesson for the students in our Bookbridge English classes at the library, where they drew pictures and wrote a paragraph about their “monster family.”

IMG_2093

IMG_2097

IMG_2101

IMG_2103

2 thoughts on “Hair-Cutting, Hiking, and Halloween

  1. Pingback: Tsagaan Sar | Min in Mongolia

  2. Pingback: I Swear I Actually Do Work | Min in Mongolia

Leave a Reply

